Home      Log In      Contacts      FAQs      INSTICC Portal

Program Committee


Martina Ziefle
Human Computer Interaction Center, RWTH-Aachen University

Brief Bio
Martina Ziefle is professor for Communication Science at RWTH Aachen University and head of the eHealth Research group at the Human Technology Centre at RWTH Aachen University. Martina Ziefle studied psychology at the universities of Göttingen and Würzburg, Germany, where she finished her studies with honors. From the University of Fribourg, Switzerland, she received her Ph.D. in psychology summa cum laude. After her habilitation at RWTH, in which she examined reading processes in electronic media, Martina Ziefle took up positions as assistant professor at the University of Münster and, subsequently, at the RWTH Aachen. The research of Prof. Ziefle addresses the human factor in different technology types and using contexts. Technology acceptance decisively depends on the extent to which user diversity is considered and implemented in technological design. A special research focus is directed to the design of medical technologies. Here, the identification of users’ specific needs as well as affective barriers towards new technologies is essential in this sensitive field. In addition to teaching and directing research in HumTec, Prof. Ziefle leads various projects funded by industrial and public authorities, dealing with the interaction and communication of humans with technology. ... More >>


Bessam Abdulrazak, Computer Science, Université de Sherbrooke, Canada
Mehdi Adda, Mathematics, Computer science and engineering, Université du Québec à Rimouski, Canada
Carmelo Ardito, Computer Science Dept., Università degli Studi di Bari, Italy
Giacinto Barresi, Rehab Technologies Lab, Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia, Italy
Anupam Basu, National Institute of Technology, Durgapur, India
Karsten Berns, Robotics Research Lab, Germany
Laurent Billonnet, Xlim Institute - University of Limoges, France
Philipp Brauner, Human-Computer Interaction Center, RWTH Aachen University, Germany
Jane Bringolf, Centre for Universal Design Australia Ltd, Australia
Yao J. Chang, Chung Yuan Christian University, Taiwan, Republic of China
Mario Ciampi, Institute for High Performance Computing and Networking, National Research Council of Italy, Italy
Georg Duftschmid, Medical University of Vienna, Austria
Stefano Federici, Deprtment of Human and Education Science, University of Perugia, Italy
David L. Fuschi, BRIDGING Consulting Ltd., United Kingdom
Alastar Gale, Applied Vision Research Centre, Loughborough University, United Kingdom
Ennio Gambi, Dipartimento di Ingegneria dell'Informazione, Università Politecnica Delle Marche, Italy
Javier Gomez, Universidad Autonoma de Madrid, Spain
Florian Grond, McGill University, Canada
Nick Guldemond, Institute of Health Policy and Management iBMG, Erasmus University, Netherlands
Jaakko Hakulinen, Faculty of Information Technology and Communication, Tampere University, Finland
Andreas Heinig, Wireless Microsystems, Fraunhofer Institute for Photonic Microsystems, Germany
David Isern, Dept. Enginyeria Informàtica i Matemàtiques, Universitat Rovira i Virgili, Spain
Eila Järvenpää, Industrial Engineering and Management, Aalto University, Finland
Petr Ježek, New Technologies for the Information Society, University of West Bohemia, Czech Republic
Takahiro Kawamura, Japan Science and Technology Agency, Japan
Jeongeun Kim, College of Nursing, Seoul National University, Korea, Republic of
Peter Kokol, University of Maribor, Slovenia
Stathis Konstantinidis, Faculty of Medicine & Health Sciences, University of Nottingham, United Kingdom
Andrej Kos, Trzaska 25, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia
Mikel Larrea, Computer Architecture and Technology, Universidad del País Vasco, Spain
Natasha Layton, Department of Health Professions , Swinburne University, Australia
Ahmad Lotfi, Computer Science, Nottingham Trent University, United Kingdom
Jin Luo, Biomedical Sciences, University of west London, United Kingdom
Heikki Lyytinen, Psychology, University of Jyväskylä, Finland
Andrea Mangiatordi, University of Milano Bicocca, Italy
Giuseppe Mangioni, Dipartimento di Ingegneria Elettrica Elettronica e Informatica, Università degli Studi di Catania, Italy
Maurice Mars, TeleHealth, University of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Elvis Mazzoni, Psychology, University of Bologna, Italy
Hamid McHeick, 555 Boul. De L'université, University of Quebec at Chicoutimi, Canada
René Meier, Lucerne University of Applied Sciences, Switzerland
Ronald Merrell, surgery, Virginia Commonwealth Universtiy, United States
Maurice Mulvenna, School of Computing, University Of Ulster, United Kingdom
Amit A. Nanavati, IBM Research, India
Lina Nilsson, Informatics, Linnaeus University, Sweden
Yvonne O'Connor, Business Information Systems, University College Cork, Ireland
Helen Pain, Informactics, University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Marko Perisa, Department of Information and Communication Traffic, University of Zagreb, Faculty of Transport and Traffic Sciences, Croatia
Marcelo Pimenta, Institute of Informatics, UFRGS, Brazil
Marco Porta, Ingegneria Industriale e dell'Informazione, Università degli Studi di Pavia, Italy
Amon Rapp, University of Torino, Italy
Ulrich Reimer, Eastern Switzerland University of Applied Sciences, Switzerland
Corina Sas, School of Computing and Communications, Lancaster University, United Kingdom
Sreela Sasi, Computer and Information Science, Gannon University, United States
Marcia Scherer, Institute for Matching Person & Technology, United States
Andreas Schrader, Institute of Telematics, Universität zu Lübeck, Germany
Oh-Soon Shin, School of Electronic Engineering, Soongsil University, Korea, Republic of
Jitae Shin, School of Electronic and Electrical Eng., Sungkyunkwan University, Korea, Republic of
Telmo Silva, Department of Communications and the Arts, University of Aveiro, Portugal
Josep Silva, Universitat Politècnica de València, Spain
Åsa Smedberg, Department of Computer and Systems Sciences, DSV, Stockholm University, Sweden
Luca Spalazzi, DII, Università Politecnica Delle Marche, Italy
Ton A. Spil, BMS - IEBIS, University of Twente, Netherlands
Susanna Spinsante, Dipartimento di Ingegneria dell'Informazione (DII), Università Politecnica Delle Marche, Italy
Taro Sugihara, School of Environment and Society, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
Andrew Targowski, Department of Business Information System, Western Michigan University, United States
Bert-Jan van Beijnum, Faculty of Electrical Engineering, Mathematics and Computer Science, University of Twente, Netherlands
Andrea Vitaletti, Università degli Studi di Roma La Sapienza, Italy
Doug Vogel, School of Management, Harbin Institute of Technology, China
Miroslav Vrankic, Professor of Electrical Engineering University of Rijeka, Croatia
Meng E. Wong, Early Childhood & Special Needs Education, Education National Institute of Singapore, Singapore
George Xylomenos, Informatics, Department of Informatics, Athens University of Economics and Business, Athens, Greece
Evi Zouganeli, Electronics and IT, OsloMet - Oslo Metropolitan University, Norway

(list not yet complete)