Home      Log In      Contacts      FAQs      INSTICC Portal

Program Committee


Martina Ziefle
RWTH-Aachen University

Brief Bio
Martina Ziefle is professor for Communication Science at RWTH Aachen University and head of the eHealth Research group at the Human Technology Centre at RWTH Aachen University. Martina Ziefle studied psychology at the universities of Göttingen and Würzburg, Germany, where she finished her studies with honors. From the University of Fribourg, Switzerland, she received her Ph.D. in psychology summa cum laude. After her habilitation at RWTH, in which she examined reading processes in electronic media, Martina Ziefle took up positions as assistant professor at the University of Münster and, subsequently, at the RWTH Aachen. The research of Prof. Ziefle addresses the human factor in different technology types and using contexts. Technology acceptance decisively depends on the extent to which user diversity is considered and implemented in technological design. A special research focus is directed to the design of medical technologies. Here, the identification of users’ specific needs as well as affective barriers towards new technologies is essential in this sensitive field. In addition to teaching and directing research in HumTec, Prof. Ziefle leads various projects funded by industrial and public authorities, dealing with the interaction and communication of humans with technology. ... More >>

Ana Fred
Instituto de Telecomunicações and University of Lisbon

Brief Bio
Ana Fred received the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical and Computer Engineering, in 1989 and 1994, respectively, both from Instituto Superior Técnico (IST), Technical University of Lisbon, Portugal. She is a Faculty Member of IST since 1986, where she has been a professor with the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, and more recently with the Department of Biomedical Engineering. She is a researcher at the Pattern and Image Analysis Group of the Instituto de Telecomunicações. Her main research areas are on pattern recognition, both structural and statistical approaches, with application to data mining, learning systems, behavioral biometrics, and biomedical applications. She has done pioneering work on clustering, namely on cluster ensemble approaches. Recent work on biosensors hardware (including BITalino – and ECG-based biometrics (Vitalidi project) have been object of several nacional and internacional awards, as well as wide dissemination on international media, constituting a success story of knowledge transfer from research to market. She has published over 160 papers in international refereed conferences, peer reviewed journals, and book chapters. ... More >>

John O'Donoghue
Imperial College London
United Kingdom

Brief Bio

Carsten Röcker
Ostfestfalen-Lippe UAS and Fraunhofer IOSB-INA

Brief Bio
Carsten Röcker is a senior researcher at the Human-Computer Interaction Center (HCIC) and a lecturer at the Communication Science Institute at RWTH Aachen University, Germany. His current research addresses technical as well as social aspects of human-computer interaction in intelligent environments. Previously, he was a senior researcher at the Human Technology Centre (HumTec), working in the research program “eHealth Enhancing Mobility with Aging”. Before joining RWTH Aachen University in 2008, he was a PostDoc at the Distributed Cognition and HCI Laboratory at the University of California in San Diego, USA. From 2000 to 2006 he worked as a research associate at the Fraunhofer Integrated Publication and Information Systems Institute (IPSI) in Darmstadt. During this time he was involved in two EU-funded projects designing novel information and communication technologies for intelligent home and office environments. Besides these appointments, he was a researc h fellow at Tokyo University, Japan (2010) and guest professor at the Medical University of Graz, Austria (2012). He has an interdisciplinary background with academic degrees in the areas computer science (PhD), psychology (PhD), electrical engineering (Master), and management (Master). ... More >>


Marco Aiello, University of Stuttgart, Germany
Dietrich Albert, University of Graz & Graz University of Technology, Austria
Carlo A. Avizzano, Scuola Superiore Sant'Anna, Italy
Angel Barriga, IMSE-CNM-CSIC, Spain
Karsten Berns, Robotics Research Lab, Germany
Frada Burstein, Faculty of IT, Monash University, Australia
Stuart Cunningham, Manchester Metropolitan University, United Kingdom
Mary Czerwinski, Independent Researcher, United States
Maria L. Damiani, Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Monica Divitini, Independent Researcher, Norway
Deborah I. Fels, Ryerson University, Canada
Jinjuan H. Feng, Towson University (Baltimore Hebrew University), United States
Diamantino Freitas, Faculdade de Engenharia da Universidade do Porto, Portugal
Ennio Gambi, Università Politecnica Delle Marche, Italy
Todor Ganchev, Technical University of Varna, Bulgaria
Jaakko Hakulinen, Tampere University, Finland
Dirk Heylen, Human Media Interaction, University of Twente, Netherlands
Alina Huldtgren, Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands
Kyoung-Don Kang, Binghamton University, United States
David Kaufman, Simon Fraser University, Canada
Takahiro Kawamura, Japan Science and Technology Agency, Japan
Peter Kokol, University of Maribor, Slovenia
Andrej Kos, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia
Mikel Larrea, Universidad del País Vasco, Spain
Barbara Leporini, ISTI - CNR, Italy
Christine Lisetti, Florida International University, United States
Linda Little, Northumbria University, United Kingdom
Thurmon Lockhart, Independent Researcher, United States
Piero Malcovati, University of Pavia, Italy
Roberto Manduchi, University of California Santa Cruz, United States
Kathleen F. McCoy, University of Delaware, United States
Nirvana Meratnia, University of Twente, Netherlands
Hiroshi Mineno, Shizuoka University, Japan
Elena Mugellini, University of Applied Sciences Western Switzerland, Switzerland
Majid Nabi, Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands
Keiichi Nakata, University of Reading, United Kingdom
Amit A. Nanavati, IBM Research, India
Lorenzo Natale, Independent Researcher, Italy
Anthony F. Norcio, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, United States
Masayuki Numao, Osaka University, Japan
Angelo Oddi, Independent Researcher, Italy
Patrizio Pelliccione, University of Gothenburg, Sweden
Ronald H. Perrott, Independent Researcher, United Kingdom
Niels Pinkwart, Humboldt University, Germany
Ronald Poppe, Utrecht University, Netherlands
Marco Porta, Università degli Studi di Pavia, Italy
Girijesh Prasad, University of Ulster, United Kingdom
Klaus Radermacher, RWTH Aachen University, Germany
Bernd Radig, Independent Researcher, Germany
Gregorio Robles, Universidad Rey Juan Carlos, Spain
Wendy Rogers, Georgia Institute of Technology, United States
Philippe Roose, LIUPPA/IUT de Bayonne/UPPA, France
Corina Sas, Lancaster University, United Kingdom
Sreela Sasi, Gannon University, United States
Fabio A. Schreiber, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
Loren Schwiebert, Wayne State University, United States
Bryan W. Scotney, University of Ulster, United Kingdom
Yuzhong Shen, Old Dominion University, United States
Josep Silva, Universitat Politècnica de València, Spain
Luca Spalazzi, Università Politecnica Delle Marche, Italy
Christine Strauss, University of Vienna, Austria
Herman van der Kooij, University of Twente, Netherlands
Frans J. Verhey, Maastricht University, Netherlands
Salvatore Vitabile, University of Palermo, Italy
Gerhard Weber, Technical University of Dresden, Germany
Martin White, University of Sussex, United Kingdom
George Xylomenos, Department of Informatics, Athens University of Economics and Business, Athens, Greece
Xenophon Zabulis, Foundation for Research and Technology Hellas (FORTH), Greece

(list not yet complete)