Home      Log In      Contacts      FAQs      INSTICC Portal

Program Committee


Carsten Röcker
Ostfestfalen-Lippe UAS and Fraunhofer IOSB-INA

Brief Bio
Carsten Röcker is a senior researcher at the Human-Computer Interaction Center (HCIC) and a lecturer at the Communication Science Institute at RWTH Aachen University, Germany. His current research addresses technical as well as social aspects of human-computer interaction in intelligent environments. Previously, he was a senior researcher at the Human Technology Centre (HumTec), working in the research program “eHealth Enhancing Mobility with Aging”. Before joining RWTH Aachen University in 2008, he was a PostDoc at the Distributed Cognition and HCI Laboratory at the University of California in San Diego, USA. From 2000 to 2006 he worked as a research associate at the Fraunhofer Integrated Publication and Information Systems Institute (IPSI) in Darmstadt. During this time he was involved in two EU-funded projects designing novel information and communication technologies for intelligent home and office environments. Besides these appointments, he was a researc h fellow at Tokyo University, Japan (2010) and guest professor at the Medical University of Graz, Austria (2012). He has an interdisciplinary background with academic degrees in the areas computer science (PhD), psychology (PhD), electrical engineering (Master), and management (Master). ... More >>

John O'Donoghue
Imperial College London
United Kingdom

Brief Bio

Martina Ziefle
RWTH-Aachen University

Brief Bio
Martina Ziefle is professor for Communication Science at RWTH Aachen University and head of the eHealth Research group at the Human Technology Centre at RWTH Aachen University. Martina Ziefle studied psychology at the universities of Göttingen and Würzburg, Germany, where she finished her studies with honors. From the University of Fribourg, Switzerland, she received her Ph.D. in psychology summa cum laude. After her habilitation at RWTH, in which she examined reading processes in electronic media, Martina Ziefle took up positions as assistant professor at the University of Münster and, subsequently, at the RWTH Aachen. The research of Prof. Ziefle addresses the human factor in different technology types and using contexts. Technology acceptance decisively depends on the extent to which user diversity is considered and implemented in technological design. A special research focus is directed to the design of medical technologies. Here, the identification of users’ specific needs as well as affective barriers towards new technologies is essential in this sensitive field. In addition to teaching and directing research in HumTec, Prof. Ziefle leads various projects funded by industrial and public authorities, dealing with the interaction and communication of humans with technology. ... More >>


Mehdi Adda, Université du Québec à Rimouski, Canada
Kenji Araki, Hokkaido University, Japan
Carmelo Ardito, Università degli Studi di Bari, Italy
Angel Barriga, IMSE-CNM-CSIC, Spain
Helmi Ben Hmida, Fraunhofer IGD Computer Graphics, Germany
Dario Bonino, Polytechnic University of Turin, Italy
Noel Carroll, NUI Galway, Ireland
Yao J. Chang, Chung Yuan Christian University, Taiwan, Republic of China
Malcolm Clarke, Ondokuz Mayis University, United Kingdom
Ana Correia de Barros, Independent Researcher, Portugal
Stuart Cunningham, Manchester Metropolitan University, United Kingdom
Choukri Djellali, University of Quebec at Rimouski, Canada
Georg Duftschmid, Medical University of Vienna, Austria
Amir H. El Hassani, Nanomedicine Lab, Imagery & Therapeutics, France
Stefano Federici, University of Perugia, Italy
Deborah I. Fels, Ryerson University, Canada
David L. Fuschi, BRIDGING Consulting Ltd., United Kingdom
Alastar Gale, Loughborough University, United Kingdom
Ennio Gambi, Università Politecnica Delle Marche, Italy
Todor Ganchev, Technical University of Varna, Bulgaria
Aura Ganz, University of Massachusetts, United States
Mark Gaynor, Saint Louis University College for Public Health and Social Justice, United States
Javier Gomez, Universidad Autonoma de Madrid, Spain
Jaakko Hakulinen, Tampere University, Finland
Andreas Heinig, Fraunhofer Institute for Photonic Microsystems, Germany
Alina Huldtgren, Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands
Takahiro Kawamura, Japan Science and Technology Agency, Japan
Jeongeun Kim, Seoul National University, Korea, Republic of
Peter Kokol, University of Maribor, Slovenia
Shin’ichi Konomi, The University of Tokyo, Japan
Mikel Larrea, Universidad del País Vasco, Spain
Natasha Layton, Swinburne University, Australia
Der-Ming Liou, Independent Researcher, Taiwan, Republic of China
Jin Luo, University of west London, United Kingdom
Heikki Lyytinen, University of Jyväskylä, Finland
Hagen Malberg, TU Dresden, Germany
Piero Malcovati, University of Pavia, Italy
Cezary Mazurek, Poznan Supercomputing and Networking Center, Poland
Elvis Mazzoni, University of Bologna, Italy
Kathleen F. McCoy, University of Delaware, United States
René Meier, Lucerne University of Applied Sciences, Switzerland
Christian Micheloni, University of Udine, Italy
Hiroshi Mineno, Shizuoka University, Japan
Maurice Mulvenna, Ulster University, United Kingdom
Amit A. Nanavati, IBM Research, India
Anthony F. Norcio, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, United States
Marko Perisa, University of Zagreb, Faculty of Transport and Traffic Sciences, Croatia
Marcelo Pimenta, UFRGS, Brazil
Zainab Pirani, Independent Researcher, India
Marco Porta, Università degli Studi di Pavia, Italy
Amon Rapp, University of Torino, Italy
Ulrich Reimer, Eastern Switzerland University of Applied Sciences, Switzerland
Philippe Roose, LIUPPA/IUT de Bayonne/UPPA, France
Sreela Sasi, Gannon University, United States
Andreas Schrader, Universität zu Lübeck, Germany
Jitae Shin, Sungkyunkwan University, Korea, Republic of
Josep Silva, Universitat Politècnica de València, Spain
Jeffrey Soar, University of Southern Queensland, Australia
Taro Sugihara, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
Babak Taati, Toronto Rehabilitation Institute, Canada
Yin-Leng Theng, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Carolyn Turvey, University of Iowa, United States
Bert-Jan van Beijnum, University of Twente, Netherlands
Elena Villalba, Technical University of Madrid, Spain
Miroslav Vrankic, Professor of Electrical Engineering University of Rijeka, Croatia
Hsueh-Cheng '. Wang, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan, Taiwan, Republic of China
George Xylomenos, Department of Informatics, Athens University of Economics and Business, Athens, Greece

(list not yet complete)