Home      Log In      Contacts      FAQs      INSTICC Portal

Program Committee


Carsten Röcker
Ostfestfalen-Lippe UAS and Fraunhofer IOSB-INA

Brief Bio
Carsten Röcker is a senior researcher at the Human-Computer Interaction Center (HCIC) and a lecturer at the Communication Science Institute at RWTH Aachen University, Germany. His current research addresses technical as well as social aspects of human-computer interaction in intelligent environments. Previously, he was a senior researcher at the Human Technology Centre (HumTec), working in the research program “eHealth Enhancing Mobility with Aging”. Before joining RWTH Aachen University in 2008, he was a PostDoc at the Distributed Cognition and HCI Laboratory at the University of California in San Diego, USA. From 2000 to 2006 he worked as a research associate at the Fraunhofer Integrated Publication and Information Systems Institute (IPSI) in Darmstadt. During this time he was involved in two EU-funded projects designing novel information and communication technologies for intelligent home and office environments. Besides these appointments, he was a researc h fellow at Tokyo University, Japan (2010) and guest professor at the Medical University of Graz, Austria (2012). He has an interdisciplinary background with academic degrees in the areas computer science (PhD), psychology (PhD), electrical engineering (Master), and management (Master). ... More >>

Martina Ziefle
Human Computer Interaction Center, RWTH-Aachen University

Brief Bio
Martina Ziefle is professor for Communication Science at RWTH Aachen University and head of the eHealth Research group at the Human Technology Centre at RWTH Aachen University. Martina Ziefle studied psychology at the universities of Göttingen and Würzburg, Germany, where she finished her studies with honors. From the University of Fribourg, Switzerland, she received her Ph.D. in psychology summa cum laude. After her habilitation at RWTH, in which she examined reading processes in electronic media, Martina Ziefle took up positions as assistant professor at the University of Münster and, subsequently, at the RWTH Aachen. The research of Prof. Ziefle addresses the human factor in different technology types and using contexts. Technology acceptance decisively depends on the extent to which user diversity is considered and implemented in technological design. A special research focus is directed to the design of medical technologies. Here, the identification of users’ specific needs as well as affective barriers towards new technologies is essential in this sensitive field. In addition to teaching and directing research in HumTec, Prof. Ziefle leads various projects funded by industrial and public authorities, dealing with the interaction and communication of humans with technology. ... More >>

John O'Donoghue
Imperial College London
United Kingdom

Brief Bio


Mehdi Adda, Mathematics, Computer science and engineering, Université du Québec à Rimouski, Canada
Carmelo Ardito, Computer Science Dept., Università degli Studi di Bari, Italy
Narcis Avellana, Independent Researcher, Spain
Carlo A. Avizzano, PERCRO - TeCIP Institute, Scuola Superiore Sant'Anna, Italy
Christopher Baber, School of Engineering, University of Birmingham, United Kingdom
Angel Barriga, IMSE-CNM-CSIC, Spain
Karsten Berns, Robotics Research Lab, Germany
Dario Bonino, Research & Development, Polytechnic University of Turin, Italy
Noel Carroll, Lero Software Research Centre, NUI Galway, Ireland
Maria L. Damiani, Computer Science, Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Louise Demers, School of Rehabilitation, University of Montreal, Canada
Jinjuan H. Feng, Computer and Information Sciences Department, Towson University (Baltimore Hebrew University), United States
David L. Fuschi, BRIDGING Consulting Ltd., United Kingdom
Ennio Gambi, Dipartimento di Ingegneria dell'Informazione, Università Politecnica Delle Marche, Italy
Todor Ganchev, Department of Computing and Automation, Technical University of Varna, Bulgaria
Jaakko Hakulinen, Faculty of Information Technology and Communication, Tampere University, Finland
Andreas Heinig, Wireless Microsystems, Fraunhofer Institute for Photonic Microsystems, Germany
Alina Huldtgren, Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands
David Kaufman, Faculty of Education, Simon Fraser University, Canada
Takahiro Kawamura, Japan Science and Technology Agency, Japan
Peter Kokol, University of Maribor, Slovenia
Shin’ichi Konomi, The University of Tokyo, Japan
Andrej Kos, Trzaska 25, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia
Mikel Larrea, Computer Architecture and Technology, Universidad del País Vasco, Spain
Linda Little, Psychology, Northumbria University, United Kingdom
Amy Loutfi, Örebro University, Sweden
Hagen Malberg, Institute of Biomedical Engineering, TU Dresden, Germany
Piero Malcovati, Dept. of Electrical, Computer, and Biomedical Engineering, University of Pavia, Italy
Giuseppe Mangioni, Dipartimento di Ingegneria Elettrica Elettronica e Informatica, Università degli Studi di Catania, Italy
Heimar F. Marin, Nursing - health Informatics, Universidade Federal de São Paulo - Unifesp, Brazil
Cezary Mazurek, Poznan Supercomputing and Networking Center, Poland
René Meier, Lucerne University of Applied Sciences, Switzerland
Hiroshi Mineno, Graduate School of Science and Technology, Shizuoka University, Japan
Iosif Mporas, University of Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Amit A. Nanavati, IBM Research, India
Anthony F. Norcio, Information Systems, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, United States
Helen Pain, Informactics, University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Marcelo Pimenta, Institute of Informatics, UFRGS, Brazil
Marco Porta, Ingegneria Industriale e dell'Informazione, Università degli Studi di Pavia, Italy
Ulrich Reimer, Eastern Switzerland University of Applied Sciences, Switzerland
Philippe Roose, Computer science, LIUPPA/IUT de Bayonne/UPPA, France
Zafer Sahinoglu, Mitsubishi Electric Research Laboratories, United States
Corina Sas, School of Computing and Communications, Lancaster University, United Kingdom
Sreela Sasi, Computer and Information Science, Gannon University, United States
Fabio A. Schreiber, Dipartimento di Elettronica, Informazione e Bioingegneria, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
Jitae Shin, School of Electronic and Electrical Eng., Sungkyunkwan University, Korea, Republic of
Josep Silva, Universitat Politècnica de València, Spain
Kostas Stathis, Computer Science, Royal Holloway University of London, United Kingdom
Yin-Leng Theng, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Gerhard Weber, Technical University of Dresden, Germany
Nadir Weibel, University of California, United States
Robert Woitsch, Innovation Group, Boc Asset Management, Austria
George Xylomenos, Informatics, Department of Informatics, Athens University of Economics and Business, Athens, Greece

(list not yet complete)